June 2013 Beauty Favourites

by ahylandmakeup

Cliche I know, but we’re now half way through 2013. Scary stuff. So what better way for a makeup junkie to reflect on a past month than to look back at the products that were swooned over in June.

June '13 Favourites

REN Clearcalm Clarifying Clay Cleanser £18 – this was something I had my eye on for many a Space NK trip. Always on the look out for the best blemish fighting products, when I had a recent flare up a few weeks ago I decided to cave and pick one up. Good move. A creamy non foaming texture with clay that feels soothing on the skin whilst giving a good deep clean. The clay content is gentle enough to use everyday, and helps to treat current blemishes as well as preventing new ones from developing. After removing my makeup with Bioderma, one pump massaged onto dry skin then removed with a muslin cloth and warm water or my Clarisonic and my skin is clean, calm and refreshed. For the win.

Hydraluron £24.99 – another Caroline Hirons induced purchase. In addition to a few blemishes, I also had rather dry and dehydrated skin particularly in the T-Zone, so off I skipped to Boots for this bad boy. A hydrating serum that provides below the surface hydration due to it’s high content of Hyaluronic Acid. This can hold up to a 1000 times it’s own weight in water, keeping skin’s thirst quenched. Clever ey? As a reminder, this is not a substitute for your moisturiser! Apply this before like you would a serum. Hirons knows skin, OK?

Kevyn Aucoin The Sculpting Powder, Medium £34 – something I have loyally used everyday since it’s purchase and quite frankly I bleeping love this. I’m lucky in that I inherited quite good cheekbones, so haven’t always felt the need to contour but what girl can honestly say no to super model cheekbones? A powder with cool toned brown and grey hues that when on the skin totally mimics a natural shadow. It’s so light and natural that it’d be very hard to look heavy or streaky on the skin, like some contouring or bronzing powders can. I’m currently using a MAC 188 duo fibre brush to apply this (viviannadoesmakeup this is your influence!) to create a softer finish avoiding any harsh lines. I will continue to purchase until I die. No really I will

Maybelline 24 hour Colour Tattoo £4.99 – my latest neutral eyed love affair (check out my last post for a full confession on neutral eye wear). ‘On and On Bronze’ was my colour of choice for quite a hefty part of June. The perfect smudge and go smokey eye for day time. A gorgeous metallic bronzed taupe cream shadow that stays put ALL DAY. No creasing, no fading. Perfect. Maybe I was born with it, but I think maybe its Maybelline.

MAC Lipstick ‘Patisserie’ £15 – my ‘throw it on without a mirror’ lipstick. A natural brown toned pink making a brilliant every day choice, it almost matches my lip colour just making them that little bit more perfected. One of the cremesheen formulas, it’s smooth and creamy on the lips so it’s comfortable to wear too. Not a major contender in the long lasting category but this doesn’t bother me due to how easy it is to top up. Hey, a girl gotta eat. 

MAC ‘Powersurge’ Eye Kohl £14 – I haven’t worn anything in my waterline for years (teenage black liner nightmares) but recently a sweep of this liner has been a welcomed thing. A warm gold colour that just helps to add that little something extra to your eye makeup. It’s soft and can look almost undetectable when paired with mascara but it just gives a hint of a smokey eye, mixing things up a little. A powerful little pencil.

My June ’13 beauty favourites. Six rather lovely products I’ve been a little obsessed with and quite honestly reliant on. Forget my five a day, I’m getting my six a day…